The CS Seminar is a platform where speakers from industry, government labs, and academia present their work at the CS department at IIT. Below is the schedule for upcoming events, as well as past events. Please click on the title of a seminar to access the bio of the speaker and the abstract of the talk.

Spring 2014

Date Time Location Speaker Title
Monday, 4/7/2014
12:45pm - 1:45pm SB 111 Ishfaq Ahmad
Optimization Techniques in High-Performance Computing for Sustainability
Thursday, 4/3/2014
12:45pm - 1:45pm SB 111
Bharat Bhargava
Privacy Preserving Data Dissemination
Wednesday, 4/2/2014
2:00pm - 3:00pm
SB 204
Fei Chiang
Continuous Data Cleaning
Monday, 3/31/2014
11:15am - 12:15pm
SB 225
Tilmann Rabl
Big Data Benchmarking
Friday, 3/28/2014
12:45pm - 1:45pm SB 111 Eunice E. Santos
Effective Modeling in Computational Social Systems
Thursday, 3/27/2014
12:45pm - 1:45pm SB 111
Bojan Cukic
In Pursuit of Software Faults: Status and Challenges
Thursday, 3/13/2014 10:15am - 11:15am
SB 220
Steven Timm
FermiCloud On-Demand Services:  Data Intensive Computing on Public and  Private Clouds
Wednesday, 3/12/2014
11:25am - 12:40pm SB 107
Mustafa Bilgic
Rich and Transparent Active Learning*
Friday, 3/7/2014
12:45pm - 1:45pm
SB 111
Kui Ren
Securing Emerging Short Range Wireless Communications
Wednesday, 2/26/2014
11:25am - 12:40pm
SB 107
Aron Culotta
Understanding Public Health using Twitter*
Thursday, 2/6/2014
12:45pm - 1:45pm SB 111
Chris Gladwin
A view of the Importance and Capabilities of IIT in the Chicago Technology Ecosystem
Wednesday, 1/29/2014
11:25am - 12:40pm
SB 107
Boris Glavic
Computing Provenance for Database Updates and Transactions*
Tuesday, 1/28/2014
12:45pm - 1:45pm
SB 111
Vlademir Getov
Asymptotic Performance Modeling for Application-Architecture Co-Design

* Co-organized with the Data Science Seminar http://science.iit.edu/applied-mathematics/data-science-seminar

Fall 2013

Date Time Location Speaker Title
Thursday, 10/17/2013
12:45pm - 1:45pm
SB 113
Radu State
Proactive Detection of Phishing Web Sites
Thursday, 10/3/2013
11:00am - 12:00pm
SB 113
Sung Woo Chung
OS-level Power Management for Mobile Devices
Thursday, 9/26/2013
12:45pm - 1:45pm
SB 239
Who We are, What We Do - Part III
Zhiling Lan
Toward Smart HPC via Active Learning and Intelligent Scheduling [slides]
Gruia Calinescu
Wireless Relay Placement for Two-connectivity [slides]
Charles Bauer
Computers and Teaching
Aron Culotta
Machine Learning for Social Media Analysis
Peter Greene
Natural "Artificial Intelligence" Via Body-Based Abstractions
Tuesday, 9/24/2013
2:00pm - 3:00pm
SB 201
Chenyang Lu
Toward Wireless Clinical Warning in Hospitals and Beyond
Tuesday, 9/24/2013
12:45pm - 1:45pm
SB 201
Who We are, What We Do - Part II
Dennis Roberson
IIT's Spectrum Observatory - Big Data Collection, Analysis and Presentation [slides]
Shlomo Argamon
Automatically identifying and analyzing metaphors [slides]
Mustafa Bilgic
Interactive Machine Learning [slides]
Cynthia Hood
Wireless and Sensor Network Systems [slides]
Boris Glavic Databases Research - Provenance, Integration, and more hot stuff [slides]
Monday, 9/23/2013
12:45pm - 1:45pm
SB 107
Who We are, What We Do - Part I
Xian-He Sun
Department Overview [slides]
Xian-He Sun
Data-Centric System Software Design [slides]
Francis Leung
What if we can add new features without changing code? [slides]
Shangping Ren
Research on Time-Critical Systems
Ioan Raicu
Data-Intensive Computing at the Intersection of Cloud Computing and Supercomputing [slides]
Wednesday, 9/4/2013
12:45pm - 1:45pm
SB 113
Rajkumar Kettimuthu
Accelerating Big Data Science through Hosted Services and Resource-aware Protocols

Spring 2013

Date Time Location Speaker Title
Thursday, 4/25/2013
12:45pm - 1:45pm
SB 111
Yan Chen
Towards a Trustworthy Android Ecosystem
Monday, 4/22/2013
12:45pm - 1:45pm SB 113
Bhaskar DasGupta
On Measuring and Evaluating Global Stability of Financial Networks
Friday, 4/12/2013
2:00pm - 3:00pm SB 225
David Yau
Thinning the waist of next-generation intelligent power grids
Thursday, 4/11/2013
12:45pm - 1:45pm SB 111
Alexander Rasin
An Automatic Physical Design Tool for Clustered Column-stores
Thursday, 4/4/2013
11:00am - 12:00pm SB 239
Steven C. Timm
FermiCloud Project:  Developing Scientific Workflows on the Cloud
Tuesday, 4/2/2013
12:45pm - 1:45pm SB 111
Tanya Y. Berger-Wolf
Computational Behavioral Ecology
Wednesday, 3/13/2013
10:00am - 11:00am SB 113
Hassan Takabi
Privacy Preserving User Centric Policy Management Framework for Cloud Computing Environments
Monday, 3/11/2013
10:00am - 11:00am SB 113
Kevin (Dong) Jin
Simulation/Emulation-based Evaluation of Smart Grid Security Applications
Wednesday, 3/6/2013 12:45pm - 1:45pm SB 111
Philip S. Yu On Mining Big Data
Monday, 3/4/2013
10:00am - 11:00am
SB 113
Olga Ohrimenko
Privacy and Integrity of Remote Storage and Computation
Friday, 3/1/2013
11:25am - 12:25pm
SB 111
Aron Culotta
From Text to Knowledge: Advances in Information Extraction and Social Media Analysis
Monday, 2/25/2013
10:00am - 11:00am
SB 113
Kevin Small
Interactive Machine Learning in High-Expertise Domains
Thursday, 2/21/2013
11:30am - 12:30pm
SB 239
Kyumin Lee
Campaign Extraction from Large-Scale Social Media

Fall 2012

Date Time Location Speaker Title
Thursday, 10/4/2012 12:45pm-1:45pm SB113
Who We are and What We Do - Part IV
Zhiling Lan Research for Extreme Scale Computing
Shlomo Argamon TBA
Gady Agam Visual Computing
Ioan Raicu Data-Intensive Computing at the Intersection of Cloud Computing and Supercomputing
Wednesday, 10/3/2012 12:45pm-1:45pm SB113
Who We are and What We Do - Part III
Cynthia Hood Management of Sensor Networks and Wireless Spectrum
Charles Bauer Computers and Teaching
Boris Glavic Databases Research - Provenance, Integration, and more hot stuff
Mattox Beckman TBA
Thursday, 9/27/2012 12:45pm-1:45pm SB113
Who We are and What We Do - Part II
Mustafa Bilgic Interactive Machine Learning
Gruia Calinescu Asymmetric Topology Control in Wireless Networks
Peter Greene Toward Helping Computers Think More Like People
Francis Leung TBA
Wednesday, 9/26/2012 12:45pm-1:45pm SB113
Who We are and What We Do - Part I
Xian-He Sun The Department Overview
Shangping Ren Research on Time-Critical Systems
Xian-Yang Li Networking Sciences: CPS, WSN, CN, and SN
Peng-Jun Wan TBA
Thursday, 8/30/2012 11am-12pm SB225 Tim Kroecker
An Overview of the Air Force Research Lab Information Directorate